CM Punjab Election: Here’s Punjab Assembly’s Number Game

Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) backed candidate Chaudhry Pervez Elahi will most likely be elected as the new Chief Minister (CM) of Punjab following yesterday’s by-elections. He will be replacing Pakistan Muslim League Nawaz (PMLN)’s Hamza Shahbaz Sharif.

According to the results, PTI has won 15 out 20 seats in the by-elections. PML N won just four, while one seat was won by an independent candidate. It should be noted that almost all the PTI MPAs who had joined PML N and voted for Hamza Shahbaz lost yesterday.

Number game in Punjab Assembly:

Before yesterday’s election, PTI and PML Q had the support of 173 members of Punjab assembly (163 of PTI and 10 of PML-Q).

Now, after winning 15 more seats, the PTI and PML Q votes for the CM Punjab’s election have increased to 188.

A party needs the support of 186 members of the provincial assembly to elect their candidate as the CM, which the two parties have successfully achieved. The remaining one independent candidate will most likely join the PTI and PML Q coalition.

After winning four seats yesterday, PML N with the support of its allies which includes seven MPAs of PPP, three independents and one member of Pakistan Rah-e-Haq party will have 179 members to vote for its candidate.

Jaleel Sharaqpuri and Faisal Niazi of the ruling party had resigned, while Chaudhry Nisar is unlikely to cast his vote.

PTI + PML Q = 188

PML N + its coalition partners = 179

What are your views on this? Share in the comments bar below. 

Featured Content⭐