PM to Inaugurate ‘Ehsaas Aamdan’ Program on Feb.21 | Here’s all that you need to know

The program is starting in 375 rural Union Councils, and has a set target of providing 200,000 assets to the deserving. 

Prime Minister Imran Khan will be inaugurating the Ehsaas asset (Aamdan) programme on February 21st, 2020. The program is worth Rs. 15 billion and would help people in 375 rural councils of 23 of the country’s poorest districts.

This program is one of many under the Ehsaas umbrella, and its aim is to create job opportunities for the needy and deserving.

Small ‘assets’ will be given to those who live below the poverty line, so they can make a living. These assets will include agricultural input, bodies of Chingchi rickshaw, livestock and inputs for small retail outlets and small enterprises.

The program is starting in 375 rural Union Councils, and has a set target of providing 200,000 assets to the deserving.

~ After seeing the efficiency of the program, it’s scale will be enhanced. 

This program is complementary to ‘Ehsaas Kafaalat’, under which cash stipends of Rs. 2000 were given to 7 million deserving women. Beneficiaries of Ehsaas Kafaalat and Ehsaas Asset programme were identified through a survey using Poverty Score Card.

Pakistan Poverty Alleviation Fund (PPAF) is the lead agency for implementing Ehsaas Amdan program. It is working through partner organizations that are well-known in the chosen districts.

Community procurement processes have been established by PPAF to ensure accountability and transparency in identification, selection and procurement of all assets and vocational skills training.

The asset recipient households are also allowed to access the Ehsaas interest-free loans if they are available in their area and if they need additional financing. The beneficiaries are identified through community engagement process in the 375 Union Councils and villages of 23 districts.

Districts in Punjab where the program is starting include:

  • Jhang,
  • Layyah and
  • Dera Ghazi Khan.

In KP there are 10 districts:

  • Upper Kohistan,
  • Lower Kohistan,
  • Palas Kolai,
  • Torghar,
  • Batagram,
  • Shangla,
  • North Waziristan,
  • South Waziristan,
  • Dera Ismail Khan,
  • and Tank.

In Balochistan, there are three districts:

  • Jhal Magsi,
  • Zhob,
  • and Sherani.

In Sindh, the districts include:

  • Badin, Thatta,
  • Sujawal,
  • Kashmore,
  • Shikarpur,
  • Tharparkar
  • and Umerkot.

These districts were selected based on their level of poverty, food insecurity and human development.

Featured Content⭐