Gautam Gambhir slams David Warner’s ‘pathetic display of spirit of the game’ against Pakistan
David Warner hit Muhammad Hafeez for a six on the first ball of the eighth over, which bounced twice.
Former Indian cricketer – Gautam Gambhir – slammed Australian opener David Warner for hitting Pakistani spinner Mohammad Hafeez‘s delivery, which had bounced twice, for a six during the second semi final of the ongoing T20 World Cup.
Following a magnificent batting display by Matthew Wade, Marcus Stoinis and Warner, Australia defeated Pakistan by five wicket in a thriller at the Dubai International Stadium. The left handed batsman smashed a crucial 49 off 30 comprising three sixes and three fours.
David Warner hit Muhammad Hafeez for a six on the first ball of the eighth over, which bounced twice. The ball was also called a no-ball by the on-field umpire.
— Follow @lapulgaprop (@lapulgaprop_) November 12, 2021
In a Tweet, Gautam Gambhir wrote, “What an absolutely pathetic display of spirit of the game by Warner! #Shameful What say @ashwinravi99? (Ravichandran Ashwin’s Twitter account).”
— Gautam Gambhir (@GautamGambhir) November 11, 2021
The commentator Mark Nicholas termed the hit “incredible strength”. He added that he has never seen anything like this before. According to MCC’s laws of cricket, a ball should be called a no-ball if it bounces more than once or rolls on the pitch before reaching the popping crease. Such a delivery is legal for the batsman to hit.
What are your views on this? Share in the comments bar below.