Here’s a complete Timeline of the Babri Masjid Dispute

Here’s a complete Timeline of the Babri Masjid Dispute

1528— Babur’s Commander Mir Baqi built the historical Babri Masjid.

1885— A plea which sought to build a canopy outside the mosque structure was rejected by a British judge. The case was filed in the Faizabad district court by Hindu priest Mahant Raghubir Das.

1949— Idols of Ram, Sita were found inside the mosque.

1950— In two different pleas Gopal Simla Visharad and Paramahansa Ramachandra Das asked for court permission to keep the idols inside mosque and worship them.

1959— Nirmohi Akhara sought possession of the site in a case filed in the court.

1981— Years after Nirmohi Akhara suit, the Uttar Pradesh (UP) Sunni Central Waqf Board also filed a plea seeking possession of the site.

February 1, 1986— The site was opened for Hindu worshippers through a local court order.

August 14, 1989— The maintenance of status quo in respect of the disputed structure was ordered by Allahabad High Court.

December 6, 1992— The Babri Masjid was demolished.

April 3, 1993— Acquisition of Certain Area at Ayodhya Act passed for acquisition of land by Centre in the disputed area.

October 24, 1994— The Indian Supreme Court announced that the Mosque wasn’t integral to worship in Islam.

April 2002— The hearing of a case to determine the actual ownership of the disputed site began in the Allahabad High Court.

September 30, 2010— The Allahabad High Court in it’s majority verdict based on the 2-1 ruling of the bench decided that the land should be equally divided between Sunni Waqf Board, the Nirmohi Akhara and Ram Lalla.

May 9, 2011— SupAllahabad High Court verdict was put on a stay by the Supreme Court.

February 8, 2018 — The Indian top court started the hearing again.

January 8, 2019— A five members bench headed by Chief Justice Ranjan Gogoi and comprising Justices S A Bobde, N V Ramana, U U Lalit and D Y Chandrachud was set up by the Supreme Court.

January 25, 2019— Supreme Court had to reconstitute the bench after Justice U U Lalit recused himself from the case. The new bench comprises Chief Justice Ranjan Gogoi and Justices S A Bobde, D Y Chandrachud, Ashok Bhushan and S A Nazeer.

March 8, 2019— The dispute was referred for mediation by the Supreme Court to a panel headed by former apex court judge F M I Kallifulla.

November 9, 2019— The long awaited decision was finally announced by a five members bench of the Supreme Court. Supreme Court in it’s decision ruled that the disputed 2.77 acres of land to be given to the Hindu parties. While, the Sunni Waqf Board has been granted 5 acres of alternate land.


Share Your Thoughts Regarding This Story With Us in The Comments Section.

Featured Content⭐