ICC Awards 2021: ICC called out for ignoring Shaheen Afridi

Here's what fans have to say

Men's test cricketer of the year

Not even a single Pakistani cricketer was named in the list of nominees for the Men’s Test Player of the Year 2021 unveiled by the International Cricket Council (ICC). The fans were shocked not to see any Pakistani cricketers in the list.

Pakistani left-arm pacer Shaheen Shah Afridi was ignored despite bagging 47 wickets at an average of 17.06 in just nine matches. He was the second highest wicket take in white ball cricket in 2021. Afridi took a five wicket-haul thrice and also a 10-wicket-haul once during this year.

Journalist Saj Sadiq raised his concerns over the list.

Furthermore, another journalist Arfa Feroz Zake also mentioned Shaheen and Hasan Ali’s exclusion from the list.

Here’s what fans have to say:

Sri Lanka’s Dimuth Karunaratne, New Zealand’s Kyle Jamieson, India’s Ravichandran Ashwin and England’s Joe Root have been nominated for the Men’s Test Player of the Year 2021 award. Joe Root scored scored 1,708 runs in 15 matches in the calendar year. Ravichandran Ashwin is the highest wicket taker in test with 52 wickets to his name.

New Zealand’s Kyle Jamieson took 27 wickets in 5 matches at an average of 17.51. He also scored 105 runs at 17.50 during the calendar year. The Sri Lankan skipper was nominated for the award for his 902 runs in 7 matches at 69.38 with 4 centuries. 

What are your views on this? Share in the comments bar below. 

  • 47 wickets against who? Bangladesh, Zimbabwe, WI.
    played 3 matches against stronger teams: Against NZ one match got only 2 wickets at 50+ average; and played 2 matches against SA and took 7 wickets at about 30.

  • Featured Content⭐