Lahore High Court Issues Contempt Of Court Notice To Nawaz Sharif And 13 Other Ministers Over Their Speeches

The Lahore High Court has given a notice to former Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif and thirteen other ministers belonging to national and provincial governments for disrespecting and causing conspiracy against the decision of the court.


The other members include The Federal Minister Daniyal Aziz, Punjab Law Minister Rana Sanaullah, Railway Minister Saad Rafique, Senator Asif Kirmani, Foreign Minister Khwaja Asif, Talal Chaudhry, Abid Sher Ali and Ishaq Dar, the former Minister Of Finance.



Advocate Azhar Siddiq filed the petition on behalf of Amina Malik of Civil Society Network. The petition pleaded that former Prime Minister along with his companions should be tried for contempt of court and treason.


After the Panama Case decision, Nawaz Sharif initiated the GT Road Rally on August 10th.

Calling this rally a ‘departure’ for home, he delivered addresses in the major cities including Gujranwala, Lahore, and Gujrat in this silent ‘power show.’

In his addresses to passionate and welcoming PML N supporters, he denied the Supreme Court’s decision and requested his followers to believe in him.



Advocate Azhar stated that his addresses are triggering people against the judiciary. He also said that Nawaz Sharif and his companions should not only be tried for contempt of court but also for treason, as no one is allowed to say anything against Army and judiciary as per the Constitution.

He further said that Nawaz’s addresses should be banned from broadcasting as they are igniting hate sentiments against the judiciary.



The notice for submission of records of speeches made during this rally has been issued to the Pakistan Electronic Media Regulatory Authority (PEMRA).


The court has adjourned its hearing until August 25th, with instructions given to respondents for providing the court with their responses before the deadline.

Most viewed in last 24 hours

View More

24 گھنٹوں کے دوران 🔥

View More