M&M’s are one of the most loved and popular snacks, the best ones for travelling and when on the go. They are popularly consumed in Pakistan as well. “Colorful button-shaped chocolates” are preferred nibbles and munching bites for a quick flavour change. But there has been one question that has been consistently brought up by their main customer market: are M&M’s halal?
The question has been raised by the Muslim community times and times again as the rumours, like other products manufactured internationally, suggested it has some ingredients that may not be agreeable with the Halal Muslim lifestyle. However, M&M’s London seems to confirm it as well.
Responding to a recent query on Twitter regarding it the product is Halal or Haram, the snack manufacturing company confirmed that it uses additives that come from animal products, which may not be deemed Halal. Here is what they had to say:
”Hi, thanks for getting in touch. M&M’s are not suitable for a Halal diet. We use additives that come from animal products when we’re making M&M’s and traces of these can be found in the sweets. Kind regards.”
Hi, thanks for getting in touch. M&M's are not suitable for a Halal diet. We use additives that come from animal products when we're making M&M's and traces of these can be found in the sweets. Kind regards
— M&M's UK (@mmsuk) February 13, 2019
We sell quality products all over the world & seek to meet our consumers’ needs in each market where we operate. In some countries, this includes certifying our products as Halal. Where we have Halal-certified products, this is indicated on the product packaging.
— M&M'S (@mmschocolate) February 20, 2019
People, however, have shown their shock with the new claims that have come forward. Here is what they had to say:
But your latest superbowl commercial said it's a chocolate bar….drinking is prohibited, how can I eat a bar & yet have it certified halal?
(I will show myself out 🤣)
— A:dnanL-U-Creadme.txt (@werzadnan) March 21, 2019
— allz (@lenasloyalty) February 13, 2019
— ZRTsunade 賭 (@Zrt_20) March 19, 2019
We would like to know what specific ingredients as specified on your website or wrappers are you considering as not being halal? Is it carmine or is it something else? Full information is required before such general designations are made.
— MuslimMatters (@MuslimMatters) March 21, 2019
The "animal products" they refer to could be gelatin. And usually gelatin is made from leftover stuff from the meat industry.. like pork skin, horns, cattle bones etc. Could be why they can't certify it Halal. But M&M's from a different region of the world might be Halal.
— Def.D (@BlindEyeShut) March 21, 2019
— H A T I C E (@adhce) March 18, 2019
I'd like to pretend I didn't read any of that. pic.twitter.com/8sGtk111le
— Haris (@bandaydaputtar) March 21, 2019
Australia’s Muslim population is less than 3% of Australia and even less than that would require halal . Please explain why your product is certified halal and how that is meeting your customers needs when up to 98% of the population don’t require halal ?
— LRTimberlake (@LanceLancerory) March 21, 2019
— Moha 🇹🇳 (@Momo_Tounsii) March 19, 2019
— omar 🇮🇶 (@leftorium_) March 21, 2019
What are your thoughts on this? Share with us in the comments bar below.