See which Bollywood celebrities made it to Lok Sabha

Bollywood is highly politicized and acted like an advertising arm of BJP-led government.


Bollywood and politics – it is certainly not an unknown sight. India is an extremely diverse country with one state having completely different cultural dynamics than the other. One thing, however, that subsequently unites entire India is the cinema. This is exactly why it is a tool that has been repeatedly used to exercise political influence.

The art, while has tried to soften Indo-Pak rivalry in some contexts, has also been a source of strengthening the hate narrative. Bollywood celebrities, specifically the Bachchan’s have been very open about their support for Modi-led government.

Though Modi was already quite popular in Gujrat, it was Amitabh Bachchan’s marketing of Gujrat tourism that increased his influence, ultimately leading to him being the premier. It can be seen how the art industry is highly politicised. Their stance following the Pulwama attack has favoured the BJP government, which ultimately had its influence on the people’s perception.

Also See: 

Mahwish Hayat Slams Amitabh Bachchan For Allegedly Refusing To Play Role Of A Pakistani In Upcoming Bollywood Movie

After the obvious circumstances, it was expected that the recent Lok Sabha 2019 elections will see a sizeable population of Bollywood celebrities.


Bollywood celebrities in Lok Sabha:


The recent elections saw many Bollywood celebs battling it out through various significant constituency across the nation for the ongoing Loksabha Election 2019. Some resided with the ruling party while others stood with the opposition.

Not only a few veterans like Kirron Kher, Hema MaliniShatrughan Sinha and Jaya Prada campaigned but new faces like Sunny Deol and Urmila Matondkar were also seen joining the bandwagon.

We have put together a detail of the fight these Bollywood stars have put forth.

Here, see for yourself:

Source: Times of India

Sunny Deol won:



Here the highlights of the Gurdaspur (Punjab) result:


Urmila Matondkar lost:



Here the highlights of the Mumbai North (Maharashtra) result:


Contrary to that, Hema Malini has secured the win once again. Manoj Tiwari, who contested from North East Delhi on a BJP ticket and has also emerged victorious. Last but not least, BJP candidate Kirron Kher is leading the Chandigarh constituency with a massive number of votes.

Poonam Sinha lost:



Here the highlights of the Lucknow (UP) result:


Bollywood Villian Prakash Raj lost:



Bollywood Villain Prakash Raj, could not achieve victory as a Hero in Bangalore Central (Karnataka) constituency. He bagged only 28906 Votes and was defeated badly by PC Mohan of BJP.

What are your thoughts on this? Share with us in the comments bar below.

Featured Content⭐