Venues, semi final & final schedule & more details of T20 World Cup 2022 revealed

The final of the event will take place at the MCG on Sunday November 13.

ICC T20 world cup 2022The International Cricket Council (ICC) has announced the details of the next year’s T20 World Cup in Australia. A total of 45 games will be played at the ICC T20 World Cup 2022 in different venues across Australia.

ICC T20 World Cup 2022 Venues:

The venues of the upcoming T20 World Cup 2022 are Adelaide Oval, the Gabba, Kardinia Park in Geelong, Bellerive Oval in Hobart, Perth Stadium, the MCG and the SCG.

Semi Final and Final:

The two semi finals will be played on November 9 and 10 at the SCG and Adelaide Oval respectively. The final of the event will take place at the MCG on Sunday November 13.

The World Cup in Australia was originally scheduled in 2020 but just like everything else, the Covid-19 pandemic also pushed the event ahead. It will start on October 16th, 2022.

The Super 12 Stage:

The champions of the T20 World Cup 2021 – Australia – along with New Zealand have automatically qualified for Super 12 stage of the next year’s event. The other teams who have got a free pass to the second round of the T20 World Cup 2022 are England, India, Pakistan, South Africa, Afghanistan and Bangladesh.

The other four teams – Sri Lanka, West Indies, Scotland and Namibia – who played the Super 12 stage this year will have to battle it out in the first round along with four other teams to make the super 12s.

The ICC will announce the complete schedule in January next year.

“With the unprecedented disruptions over the past two years, bringing the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup to Australia for the first time offers a perfect opportunity for fans across the whole country to experience the joy of a live global sporting event again,” said Michelle Enright, the tournament’s CEO.

“The ICC Women’s T20 World Cup in 2020 produced some incredible moments and created memories that will live with Australian cricket fans forever. Now it’s time for the men’s event to take centre stage and claim its own place in history.”

2022 T20 World Cup


October 16 to November 13

Host cities:

Adelaide, Brisbane, Geelong, Hobart, Melbourne, Perth, Sydney

Automatically qualified for Super 12s:

Australia, New Zealand, England, India, Pakistan, South Africa, Afghanistan, Bangladesh

Automatically qualified for Round 1:

Sri Lanka, West Indies, Scotland, Namibia, TBC, TBC, TBC, TBC

What are your views on this? Share in the comments bar below. 

  • Featured Content⭐