WhatsApp Launched New “View Once” media feature
A new WhatsApp feature is being launched worldwide today – View Once Photos and Videos. Users can now send disappearing photos and videos through the messaging app, and the recipient can only see them once.
According to details, the feature was being tested as early as late June. Now the testing phase is complete, and the View Once feature is being launched.
Details of the New Feature
A user might send a View Once photo of some new clothes they are trying on at a store, a quick reaction to a moment in time, or something sensitive like a Wi-Fi password. The receiver can view the media file once, after which it would disappear.
Experts believe that the new WhatsApp feature works a lot like Instagram’s media feature, where the recipient needs to tap the “Photo” or “Video” button to see the image or video. Once closed, the video or image won’t be accessible anymore.
New Feature Warning
It is pertinent to mention that the help article of the new feature warns that recipients can still take screenshots or record their screen while opening a View Once photo or video. WhatsApp won’t notify the sender when the image is screenshot or recorded.
View Once media won’t be visible to WhatsApp since it will be sent with end-to-end encryption. However, if the content is reported, WhatsApp will be able to see the content to take action on the sent media file.
What are your thoughts on this? Please share with us in the comment section below.